Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

Today's contemporary world runs on information, networking, sharing and linking. Internet and Mass media play a major role in developing all these characteristics and making our world smaller, bridging the gap of distance and knowledge that used to exist in ancient times. Gadgets such as mobile phones, laptops, tablets, TV etc have now become an intrinsic part of everyone's life. Profound use of such gadgets has affected human life in multiple ways - both positive and negative. Hence, It is appropriate to say that our attention spans have now reduced, but we are now proficient in sorting through large quantities of data and finding the most important information.

A human being is constantly surrounded by gadgets and appliances which are there to make his/her tasks easier or to provide entertainment. Now we have a plethora of options to do one job. Suppose we want to play music, we can either play it on our phones, laptop, iPod, music system. We tend to get bored easily by one thing and have the habit of switching between the multiple options we have. This, in turn, has reduced our ability to focus on one single thing. The best example to support this statement would be reading. Earlier people used to read a lot and it is a known fact that reading increases the focus of a person. Now as a majority of books, novels are converted into movies, tv series people prefer to watch it live in action embellished with high graphics CGI and sound rather than reading a book. Though it provides entertainment but does not have the same merits as that of reading a book. People have lost the patience to read a book for a few days, instead, they will simply watch a 3-hour movie highlighting only the important moments of that book and missing out small intricate details.

Everything has its own pros and cons. Now information is readily available as compared to antiquity. In earlier times, to search for a topic or to learn something, one had to go through a lot of hard books which would require an ample amount of time and energy. Now one can easily search on the internet for the information they are looking for. This provides us with an extra edge to sort through a large volume of information and actually focus on what is the most important result, instead of wasting time on searching. To learn one can easily find an ebook or learn through videos which is a better way to retain information.

One can observe that the positive effects of mass media and the internet are more as compared to the cons. One can argue that this makes us more dependent on technology and results in making us lazier. To avoid this, technology should be used in a way which enhances human abilities instead of degrading them.