The following is a memorandum from a business manager of a television station:

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and in order to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on a straightforward assumption that if they will restore their time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, they will stop losing any further advertising revenues. But there are many unwarranted assumptions the business manager should consider before making any final decision.

Firstly, the business manager needs to check how many complaints they have received. The argument fails to consider whether the complaints are coming from the same and few people repeatedly or it is coming from large groups and various people. It might happen that the complains are coming from a particular group of people who watches television news at night time only.

Secondly, the business manager needs to check how much revenue they are losing due to cancellation of advertising contracts. If the late-night national news is increasing the number of viewers for the news channel, then the channels viewing rate is increasing which is bringing money to the business. The manager should double-check whether getting back the advertising contracts is worth losing the increased viewers of their business.

Lastly, the argument states that in order to attract local viewers, they should restore the time devoted to local news and weather. The argument fails to admit that the late-night national news program might increase the popularity of their news channel on a national level. This might provide more opportunities for the business to get bigger advertising contracts in the future than their current local ones that will bring more revenue to the business.

So, it will be better that the business manager considers the above-mentioned flaws in his argument before taking any final decision.