The following is a memo from the business manager of a TV station:

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Over the past year, the local news stations has lost advertisement and recieved complaints about their coverage. The memorandum from the manager states that this is due to increased national coverage and decreased coverage on local news and weather. Several pieces of evidence are needed to back up this claim. There are multiple reasons why viewership can decrease and several arguments need to be analyzed.

The manager for the station indicates that the recent complaints have indicated that more time should be spent on local issues. However, this claim needs to be further backed up. The manager should look into whether the filed complaints are representative of the population. If a certain demographic of the population, say people over the age of 55, were the ones complaining, this may not accurately represent the whole viewership. What do people younger than 55 think about the recent coverage? Using the complaints alone to make a change is a weak argument. Correlations do not equal causations. Therfore, even though their is a correlation between switching to national news and decreased viewership, this is not necessarily the cause.

The TV station should look into what age demographics have stopped watching their show. Based on this, they can come up with a reasons why this has happened. There are many reasons for why people stop watching live TV. Did their viewership start reading online articles? Did their viewership start watching YouTube clips instead of the live program? Is it just one age demographic that decreased the viewership or is it even across the board? These clues can give a better idea as to why their TV viewership has decreased. It would be a stronger argument than complaints and lost advertisment claims.

If the TV station wants a strong argument to back up their claim that they should go back to local issues, they should adminsiter a local survey. This survey can ask viewers on their interests and what they would like covered during the news show. It can also ask whether they have stopped watching the show and how they are obtaining their local and national news. This would help the local station determine whether their efforts, such as advertisment sales should shift to another type media or whether they should truly adjust their show.

The claim that the local media show has to change its content needs further evidence. Reduced advertisements and complaints are not strong enough evidence to dictate what the real problem is. Now-a-days, most TV channels are losing viewership to online platforms and this could very well explain the problem the local station is experiencing. Additional studies and questionnaires would be much stronger evidence to determine what change needs to happen. Over the past year, the local news stations has lost advertisement and recieved complaints about their coverage. The memorandum from the manager states that this is due to increased national coverage and decreased coverage on local news and weather. Several pieces of evidence are needed to back up this claim. There are multiple reasons why viewership can decrease and several arguments need to be analyzed.

The claim that the local media show has to change its content needs further evidence. Reduced advertisements and complaints are not strong enough evidence to dictate what the real problem is. Now-a-days, most TV channels are losing viewership to online platforms and this could very well explain the problem the local station is experiencing. Additional studies and questionnaires would be much stronger evidence to determine what change needs to happen.