The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station argues that they should expand their coverage of weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and avoiding losing more advertising business. However, the argument is not convincing since it is supported by a couple of assumptions which are groundless.

First, the manager argues that the majority of the complaints are about their stations’ coverage of weather and local news. So, in order to maintain more viewers with their station, they need to cover more weather and local news. The assumption here is the manager regards the opinion of these who complains as that of the general viewers. However, the viewers who complain may only cover a very small percentage. In other words, the majority of the viewers are happy about the national news and do not complain. If this is the case, reforming current program by covering more local news and weather would trigger more complaints and decrease the current viewers. This would be the opposite as what the manager desires and argues.

Second, the manager argues that local businesses have discontinued posting advertisement during their late-night program. Therefore, in order to stop losing more local businesses, they should expand their station’s coverage of weather and local news. (explain how the argument depends on these assumptions). The assumption here is that the manager assumes that the decrease of weather and local news is the reason for the local businesses to stop working with them. In fact, there are many other possible reasons for the local businesses to do so. For example, the local businesses may realize advertising during the day-time programs is more favorable, and they have decided to discontinue to advertise during any late-night programs, not only with this television station. If so, adding the coverage of weather and local news would not help stop losing more local business.

In conclusion, the manager’s argument is based on a couple of unwarranted assumptions. Consequently, the argument is not convincing.