The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this perio

The passage proposes that over the past year,late night news programme has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.In order to support this conclusion author has come up wit certain evidences.However a deeper scrutiny reveals that none of th evidences land credible support to the conclusion.Let us scrutinize them.

Firstly,the author talks about the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news.This could have been possible mainly because of the uncertainity and erroneus foreast of the weather.Also there couldn't have been much day to day activity in the news which should attract the viewers attention.

Secondly, the author talks about the advertising contracts being cancelled by the local businesses during the late night programme.This could have been majorly because of the reason that at late night prices could have been very high,also at late night people could have not shown much interest in the advertisements as everybody is so tired that they dont appreciate advertisements much at the night.

Examining all the various angles and factors involved with late night news programme, the argument does not justify the need to restore time devoted to weather and local news to former level solely not to lose and business advertisements contracts.