The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The manager of this televison station believes that the revenue they lost is solely due to the reduction in local and weather related news without considering other possible reasons for the cause. Another claim is that the businneses willing to advertise will return if the coveregae of local and weather news was restored which could be a misunderstanding and needs a little more conversation to understand their reasons for leaving.

The television station according to its manager has received many complaints about local and weather new's in the time it's covereage has been reduced however the argument does not state the nature of these complaints. It could be that the viewers are not satisfied with the late night timings of the news, the nature of delivery, the visuals or even the host. It is therefore uncertain that they wish to see more of the local news on the station. The viewers might also be complaining about the repetitive nature of the same local news in that short span and requesting to have more diverse coverage instead.

Speaking about the other evidence pointed out by the manager that local businesses have cancelled their advertising, it could be for numerous reasons. The businesses might have found another station offering better prices, they themselves might not be profitable enough to afford advertising at the moment, they may have found other mediums of advertising. The author also fails to mention if these businesses were only running their advertisements during the late night weather news or throughout the day. If it was throughout the day it severely weakens the authors claim that advertisements have reduced due to reduction in local and weather coverage. It could be because of stations unfair increments in pricing or sudden changes in the terms of the contract that have not been spoken about in the memorandum.

It aslo does not speak about any other changes that the televison station might have implemented before or during this period and hence leaves reasonable doubt when attributing all it's loss of revenue to local news and weather coverage. Even if the time devoted were restored if other factors such as reduced staff, less budgetting, poor video quality, deteriorated personal relations with businessed were responsible for the loss, the revenues will not bounce back and may also lead to more complaints from people who were liking the fact that a local station was covering national news.

The manager therefore needs to put some time and effort into understanding the other factors that could be responsible for it's loss of revenue by surveying its viewers on their preferances and speaking to local businesses about their advertising needs before making any hasty decsions.