The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this argument claims that movies made by Super Screen Movie Production company will see an increase footfall if the people were more aware about their existence. This claim, inorder to be true, needs a few questions to be answered such how significant is the increase in positive reviewers, are the negative reviews more in quantity as well as more convincing etc.

The memo states that though the number of viewers has decresed in the past year the 'percentage' of positive reviews has definitely increased from last year. It however raises the question that what was the percentage of positive reviews last year? Was is significantly less than this year? Is it greater than that percentage of negative reviews? Is the number of positive reviews significantly more than that of negative ones? Is the percentage increase because of reduction in number of reviewers as a whole? Say the positive review percentage only increasd because the critics didn't find the movies worth their time and stopped watching them altogther. If any of the answers to these questions militates against the production company then the argument is strongly weakend.

The argument also mentions that the contents of the reviwes are not reaching their viewers. Could it also be possible that the contents of reviews has reached the audience but the negative ones have overpowered the positive? Are the negative reviews mentioning flaws that are most important to the audience in making the decison to watch a movie? If that is the case the claim that company needs to invest in advertising would only do more harm than good to it's viewership. Another important question is, are the movies produced of a genre that not many people are willing to watch? In that case as well even if advertising increases it will not affect viwership.

The argument assumes that since the reviwes are good the quality of the movie is good. But it raised the important question that is that really the case? Say all of the above work in favor of the production company, the genre, even the positive reviews but the fundamental direction, acting and overall quality is poor. It may have casused the production companies reputation to dwindle and therefore year on year they are seeing a decrease in viwership. Another important question is, are the producers hiring actors that are popular among the masses and thereby attract audience? If not then despite exceptional movie quality audience might not wish to watch the movies only because they can't seem to see a familiar face.

The argument is therefore specious in its present state and needs numerous questions to be answered inorder to hold ground. Once we know the answers to the above mentioned questions and if they are all in favor of the production company then the claim that budget of advertising needs to be increased will stand. If not we're left bereft of a logically sound conclusion.