The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader is someone who has many qualities like empathy, critical thinking, a sense of responsiblity, someone who knows how to cooperate and make decisions for the best of the people they are leading. A sense of competition is therefore a part of making a good leader. For when another person evinces qualities better than ourselves our sense of competition makes us want to be better, which is an important requirement for growth as a leader and an individual. Cooperation is one of those many traits that helps a good leader succeed.

Let us look at Steve Jobs and the unprecedented example he set for us with Apple. He demonstrated excellent cooperation within Apple, with his employees, suppliers and partners. It is this sense of cooperation that built trust, made everyone feel like an important cog within the growing business and made them want to do better. When building the first macintosh he sure didn't agree with everything said by everyone he was working with but his leadership qualities helped him make one cohesive product possible. It is also of utmost importance to realise that Steve Jobs wouldn't have been so driven had there not been competition in the market by the name of IBM. The competition fueled his ambition and led him to make all the right decisions while building this successful business.

Leadership is a skill that helps us grow in every aspect of our lives and therefore schools in various ways try to inculcate it when we're young. The most prominent example is choosing captains for houses and then having intra-school competions within those houses. Being a captain myself I can vouch that this ameliorated my skills ten folds and taught me lessons not only on cooperation but also on importance of competition. For even when all of us were best of friends and always ready to help and make space for each other, watching each other work so hard made us want to do better and better to make our house win. A sense of competition in a leader benefits not only the leader but drives everyone that they are leading. What would be a better example of a successful leader than someone who awakens their people's drive?

All that said in some sectors competition takes a backhand. For example if government officals in office cooperate with each other it might be more beneficial for the common man as compared to when they're competing. When important decisons like restructuting of roads and building of bridges are concered if offcials of two groups cooperated and came to a decision it would make the work hassle free at least in one department. Whereas if they keep competing trying to prove themselves better the choices such as which roads and bridges to choose might just be harder to make.

I would therefore say that preparing the young for leadership by instilling cooperation is just one of the many aspects of preparation. A sense of competion is equally important. A leader that fails to demonstrate any one of the skills might just be left behind in today's world.