The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The situation here is clearly a television station that attempting to stop audience from leaking out of their late-night news show. The letters from viewers just do not contain enough data to take a mangerial decision upon the letters alone.

First, the outside factor - the external factor should be taken under consideration, there might be facotrs that do not apear in the letters from the watchers. A new competitor channel might just rolled in and changed the expectations of the audience. Also, the economic situation of the area might have worsend give advertisers less profit for any advertisment, and people from the area less available cash to spend on any product they see.

Duration versus quality - it is required to see the letters content. The letters body of complaints about the the weather section of the program, and see if they are complaining about the quality of the data or about the duration of the sections.

Addionaly, the TV station should look closely on the letters about news section and see if the problem there is about how national television presents local issue or the problem is in the volume or lack of about local news topics.

An example that should support the managment decision, would be that the outside factors have not changed; and the only factor that seem to be influencing the TV show performance in the rating charts is it's content changes made by mangment.

To conclude, the letters from audience are important feedback tool for the show stuff and for the television station managment. However, the letters are not sufficient data to take a managrial decision about the content and the time framing of the show by itself. Thus, the data from the letters should be examined carefuly as well as external factors, which could influence the advertisments performance on the late-night show as well.