The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument has been offered by the Mayor of Briggsville regarding the construction of subway system to keep a check on the traffic congestion. As people are facing problem due to traffic issues Mayor presented a plan for construction of subway system covering major downtown areas that ensures easy flow of vehicles; this will in turn help to boost the economic pace of the economy by increasing the worker productivity as they will reach to their respective offices in time. On the surface level, the argument seems accurate but a deeper scrutiny presents various loopholes that tend to make it sp...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.