The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones."In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the

The author has made many unwarrentd assumption in the argument. The argument given by the author will fail if any of these assumption do not comply with author's thought.

First, the author is trying to suggest a plan which will decrease the traffic but does not mention the major traffic areas. The plan to build a multi -million dollar subway which will run through major downtown areas may help to lessen thetraffic in the downtown area but one can not claim about the whole Briggsville's notorious congestion. If the route of the subway is not congruous with the traffic route then the claim of having improvement in economy will be held wrong.

Furthermore, the Briggsville's citizen do not prefer to travel through the bus because of the safety issues and the inconsitencies. Which means, they prefer to travel through their own vehicle or may be by rental cars. The arguments fails to provide any such claim that the subway will have some safety guidelines to encourage people to use subway. If there is no such rules for one's saftey, people will not use subway for their commute, which shows that the problem of congestion will not solved and hence no improvement in the economy.

Finally, the argument does mention that the subway will be available for 24- hours a day which will run through the downtown area. If i consider all the previous assumption are true and people are travelling with subway, the author fails to tell the total time these commuters spend to reach their destination. The route designed by the Mayor may not be the best route to reach one's destination in least time. Since the arguments concludes that if motorists will spend less time in traffic, the economy will improve but the argument does not mention the decrease in the total time of travel of a commuter.

In the end, there are many unwarrented assumption that author has preassumed. To make the plan success, the author needs to work these above forementioned assumption. The argument will fail miserably, if any one of these assumptions do not hold true.