An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

In the argument, the author has mentioned that the people of impoverished nation of Tagus are vitamin A deficient and an organisation has engineered a new breed of millet having high amount of vitamin A. The government should do everything possible to promote this new type of millet to fight against the vitamin A deficiency. Here in the argument, there are many questions which are not answered and if these answers are not in favor of the conclusion then this conclusion can not be drawn.

First, the author does not mentions the percent increase in the vitmin A in this new breed of the millet than the already existing source. And there are few more question, like how is the quality of the millet? How much will it help to combat the Vitamin A deficiency? Are there any side effect of this new millet? If any of the answer of the above mentioned question does align with the conclusion, the author can not claim the conclusion. If the answer aligns with the conclusion the government will be sure that this breed can be distributed in the public for consumption.

Next, the author mentions that this breed are costly than existing ones and the givernment will subsidize the prices for farmning. but the author does not mention the end amount that a farmenr has to pay in order to buy these seeds afer subsidizing the prices. What if the prices are still higher even after subsidizing it? The second question which come to my mind is, what if this new seeds need some extra care or should be farmed differently? If they answer of these questions are not in favor of the conclusion, then the production of this breed will be less which wont be enough to combat the vitamin A deficiency.

Finally, the argument does not say anything about the taste of this new breed. It does say that the millet is a staple food in Tagus, but it does not comment anything about the impoverished nation of Tagus, What id the people of impoverished does not prefer the millet and what if they dont like the taste of thnis new breed. If this hold true, then it likely that no one will consume the food with millet in it. Even if the govenrment supplies this new breed, ther won't be any effect on the vitamin A deficeincy.

In the end, there are many question hidden in the argument which need to answered in order to substantiate the conslusion.