An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The decision of the government of Tagus to promote the new millet type in order to combat vitamin A deficiency is appreciated but the effectiveness of this decision is questionable subject to the content provided to us.

First of all, seeds of the new type of millet cost more and though subsidies would be provided to the farmers for growing these, we are not given any information of how much these subsidies could cut down the cost of seeds. It might be that even after getting subsidies on the cost of the seeds for the new millet type, farmers found the price to high and would not be encouraged to grow this new variety. If we knew the amount of subsidy provided and actual cost of seeds, we could conclude whether farmers would resort to growing these new variety of millet or not.

Even if farmers started to grow these new variety of millet, we cannot say whether people would start purchasing these. There are two reasons for this. First is that, the passage specifies that Tagus was an impoverished nation. So, as we do not have any clue of what could be the selling price of the new millet variety, we cannot establish the ability of people to buy these. Second reason is that, the passage makes an assumption, that since millet already was a staple food in Tagus, people would readily adopt the new variety. Now, if people like one variety of mango, it is not necessary that they will like the other variety of mango also. Similarly, the assumption of people liking one variety of millet would result in their liking of the other type as well is not impressive.

Another thing is that, there is no basis in the passage which tells us why only the new variety of millet was chosen to be a vitamin A supplement for eradicating this deficiency. Did the government look for other options and could not find any other cheaper vitamin A supplement than the new millet type or did they not bother for even identifying other options.

If we had answers to each of the above stated questions and clarity for the basis of the assumptions, we could support the government's recommendation in bringing about the predicted result. But, since the recommendation consists of several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to establish a convincing case.