Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Inherent physical differences in men and women no longer play signifacant role in circumscribing the ability of any of these genders in performing any given task. It was only in the pre historic era and the cave times when different roles were defined for males and females depending upon their physical differences. If it was a male, it was thought that he would be going out in the forest, hunting and gathering food and means to survive. If it was a woman, she was meant bear children and take care of the house and the family. But, in recent times, both the genders have proved that they are equals and there is absolutely no task which any one them cannot perform if they have courage, determination and passion to do the same.

There is absolutely no profession left where we have not seen both men and and women perfoming exceptionally well. The fields of medicine, law, teaching, agriculture, sports, aviation, transportation, science etc, each one of them have seen males and females proving their worth. In the commonwealth games, we have seen how both the genders bring so many medals for the country. We haven't been able to segregate their abilities of performance here based on their physical differences. Both the genders represent their country in the competition and when they win they bring laurels for the country. In scientific discovery, we cannot differentiate the findings and achievements of Einstein and Madam Curie based on the physical difference in their genders. It doesn't have any effect on their thinking and abilities in any way, what matters is the curiosity to know more and discover. Whichever person would possess this trait would be able to perform well in this field and physical differences would have no role to play at all. If there is a belief that men are better off technically than women and are more suited for mathematics and reasoning, then its completely wrong because women have proven their worth and shown that they are no less. Dr. Anita Borg had and outstanding technical mind and she was a keen supporter of all those who could perform well technically. She infact started a scholarship for women who code and had the intent to bring an impact on the world. Also, the misconception that men were not really good at household chores and taking care of children has been proven wrong in the recent times because, men have shown how well they can perform this task also and equal women.

Though inherent physical differences have very inconsequential effects in defining roles that men and women can perform, they may have an effect in the way different tasks are performed by different genders. For example, if there is a manual or a labour task like brick lifting, then women might be able to complete it at a slower pace as compared to men because of physical differences. But, these are very negligible differences and can be overlooked. The kind of task would not be defined by differnces like these though pace of it sometimes can be.