Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The belief that the responsibility of corporations is to make as much money as possible while operating within the law is justified as it is correct for them to believe in increasing their productivity and turnover. But, I do not completely support the thought attached to it that it is the whole and sole responsibility of these corporations.

Contributing towards the environment and our society in which we live comes as a moral duty to each and every person. This help can be at a very small scale or a large level depending upon its people's abilities. So, the corporations can sure take it as a responsibility to promote well-being of the society and environment and they can choose the level of its cooperation to the same. Apart from minting and hoarding money, a little chunk can be used to take care of the surroundings and its people.

Imagine a corporation running at a place situated in the midst of bad roads, stinky gutters, hell lot of pollution and irritable people disgusted with the condition of their vicinity. Imagine another scenarion where this corporation runs in the midst of beautiful gardens, proper roads, healthy and happy people praising and giving good wishes to the corporation. Which picture seems to be better? Obviously the second one. A positive atmosphere and cheerful people around would help the corporation to grow and prosper more not only in terms of money but in terms of respect from its people also.

Hence, although it is the responsibility of a corporation to work hard and stack money, at the same time it would not be bad for it to provide assistance in the well being of the society and environment. Sharing of responsibility in this way and understanding our moral duties would help to make this world a better place to live.