People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I believe that for making a decision good enough, it is important to first logically analyze all the factors on which it should be based and then only, arrive at a conclusion. I do not however say that people who choose emotions to be the driving factor behind their decisions are a total failure at making decisions but they might end up in making decisions which are not so effective.

When a person is experiencing emotional glut, then he is more likely to choose that path which he finds suitable at that particular time and might later regret it. But, in order to prove themselves right, later end up justifying these decisions on logic based reasoning. There can be several ways to illustrate this position. Let us say, we went out shopping and started to buy things based on how attached we got to them in first sight rather than looking up at their price would be unreasonable. We could find things which could seem so right for us and in that moment we might get attached to it. We could thus keep buying several things this way and at the end of the day we would realize how much we actually kept spending and which wasn't right. Another example could be, that there's a boy and his parents have dream that he becomes a doctor. So, this boy who is strongly attached to his parents and doesn't want to hurt their feelings , takes up medical sciences and grows up to be a doctor. Here, his decision of taking up this discipline of medical sciences wasn't based upon his interests and logical reasoning of what he could have done better. He might not turn out to be a bad doctor, but he could have been exceptionally well at something else, had he not based his decision completely on emotions. Justifying this already made decision later by logic just to make himself feel better wouldn't do any good.

However, there are few circumstances where decisions based on emotion take an edge over the decisions purely based on logic. This can be exemplified by a situation where a girl decides to educate a poor kid sacrificing her own leisure time. If she would have taken this decision based on logic entirely, she might not have resulted in helping out this poor kid. Logically she herself would need some free time to divert her mind from the regressive courses that she might be taking, but her emotions and care for others and her willingness to help out the needy, drove her decision to teach the kid. All in all, I would say that people who make decisions and later justify those decisions with logic aren't poor decision makers, their decisions might just be less effective in the long run as compared to people who choose logic over emotions while decision making.