"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The opinion of investing in unmanned space flight rather than manned ones is based on several assumptions and assertions which are not justified in the given passage.

First assumption that we come accorss is that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. There is no evidence in the argument which states on what basis this assertion was made. Was the cost of manned space flight and the unmanned one compared? Also, if it was compared, then on what basis was it compared? If the cost was compared solely on the basis of how much would it take to invest in sending men and women into space or was it compared on the basis of equipments included in the craft. If only we knew the basis of cost comparison, we could render the the argument of manned space flight being costly as true. Moreover, saying that the manned space flights were dangerous is a little vague as we do not know, in what terms the complexity of the situation and danger is defined. Whether it was a manned space flight or an unmanned one, we are uncertain of the fact that what changes in orbits would occur, whether any collision would happen or not. In these cases any time a crash could happen destroying the space craft. If the danger meant was in terms of lives of people, then yes, manned space flights would prove to be more dangerous because it would be holding real people.

Though it is specified that recent success stories of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites, demonstrated great deal of useful information that can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space, it is no where mentioned about how many of these satellites proved to be success. We do not know the total number of satellites which were sent and out of which how many were successful. Without knowing the base count, we cannot determine the success rate. It might be case that out of thousands of attempts, ten attempts were successful, and based on the success stories of which such a conclusion of spending in unmanned flight was derieved at. If this was the case, then, instead of cutting down upon the cost, the cost would see a surge instead. This is because the success rate was low and out of so many attempts only a few would be successful. Also, the usefulness of information gathered is not well justified. How did these people compare the usefulness of innformation gathererd from an unmanned flight as compared to a manned one? What real people can capture is very different from what an artificial thing can capture. The results or finding of an artificial equipment could prove to erroneous but something which is captured by a real person would be true to a great extent.

Hence, the argument of spending completely in unmanned space flight rests on several unwarranted assumptions and fails to make a convincing case.