Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society indeed. If logical reasoning is seeded inside children from the very beginning as a foundation of their education, it would contribute to increasing morality index in societies on its own.

Instead of a didactic moral preaching of what is right and what is not, education should be such, that these things become self-derivative. With foundation of logical reasoning, people on their own would be able to distinguish between wrong and right when faced with unexpected scenarios and situations. If we keep teaching children that cheating is not right, there would be some who would heed to it and others who wouldn't even bother about what we have to say. Instead of this, if we explain them, why this thing, "Cheating is not right" should be followed and why we came up with this conclusion, it is more likely to put an impression. Likewise, educating people about not stealing because it is not morally right is less persuasive in comparison to letting them logically derive and understand on their own why this is not the right path to follow. Similarly, if we succeed in explaining why different genders need to be respected equally instead of just telling that it was the right thing to do, it would have more impact on people.

If we find a person who met with an accident and is completely bleeding, the urge to take him to the hospital doesn't come from the fact that we were taught to help people in need, but it comes from the reasoning that if we do not help this person, his life might be in risk.

Though, logical reasoning foundation would result into producing a moral society, we can't completely deny the fact that teaching morality as the foundation of education would completely be a waste. It is the words of our elders, teachers and parents which keep reverberating in our minds until our last breath. So, if from the very beginning it is taught, what are the good manners, that we should respect our elders, talk to people politely, keep the surroundings clean, maintain integrity in whatever we do and say, it is more likely to do some good if not completely contribute to a moral society.