Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's statement that population of shrimp would decrease because of deep-sea fishing shows his concern towards this species but his argument that these would quickly become endangered is flawed, subject to various questionable assumptions made.

In the first place, the author states that incursions by fishermen into the Madagascan shrimp habitat has led to significant reduction in the species population. Now, how do we quantify this statement? We are not told exact or approximate figures as to how much the initial population of shrimp was and how much less it has now become as a result of fishing. Also, arriving directly to the conclusion that the significant decrease in the population resulted from fishing is also questionable. Maybe the population was reducing because of some other factor. The shrimp species might have got struck by a malady and they were dying because of this or maybe it was a migrating season for them and they were shifting their habitat, hence gradually decreasing in number.

Another thing is that, we are not told anywhere that the fishermen had started to invade all existing habitats of this species of shrimps. It might be that the fishing was restricted to few places where the fishermen were aware of about the existence of shrimps. There might have been other places which were not known to these people and the shrimp population wouldn't be decreasing there. Hence, the argument that the species would quickly become endangered holds no good here.

Also, the author states that with the breeding season approaching, the number of shrimp would increase but the population would not be able to return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. The statement lacks any evidence which would help us into believing that the levels wouldn't be able to increase much. Since we aren't given the rate of reproduction in this species nor are we given any precise numbers of the population, we can easily discredit this statement.

Finally we are told that the expected trend of fishing is supposed to continue which would result into the species of Madagascan shrimp to be endangered. But, the question is, on what basis did the author predict this trend. Did he base this prediction as a result of a study of general fishing patterns or did he simply state this. Moreover, even if this trend of fishing would continue, we are not given any information about how many years would it take for the species to become endangered.

Therefore, the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions and fails to make a convincing case. Had it answered all the above questions or exemplied its statement, we could have considered the argument up to the mark.