Recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp have led to a significant reduction in the species population. With the breeding season fast approaching, the number of shrimp should soon begin to increase. Nonetheless, the population should not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. Because this trend is expected to continue over the next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

With recent incursions by deep-sea fishermen into the habitat of the Madagascan shrimp, there is a high possibility of Madagascan shrimp becoming an endangered species. But the given argument is rife with assumptions and loopholes.

Firstly, we are told that given incursions by deep-sea fisherman will continue for next several years. But we can't predict the future as their is no appropriate reason given for fishing to continue for next few years. It can be possible that fisherman may start hunting some other species of shrimp. It can be possible that the demand for Madagascan shrimp decrease in upcoming years. There can be increasing demand for other species of shrimp excluding Madagascan shrimp. Until a full proof evidence is given to show that demand for madagascan shrimp is expected to increase in further years we can't rely that the trend for fishing is expected to continue.

Additionally, we are told that the populations of shrimp would not return to the levels before the fishing boats arrived. As breeding season is approaching, we never know that the population of shrimp may go back to initial level. It can be possible that shrimp produce a lot of off-spring when their population goes down to a threshold level. It can be possible that over the years shrimp have been prey to lot of water creature but still their population remain the same over all those years. If the author would have provided some quantitative evidence to substantiate his claim, then it would have been better. But we don't have any, we can't further our stand.

Finally, we are told that Madagascan shrimp will quickly become an endangered species. How quicly it can be possible. Maybe within next year their population may be so low as to be considered them as an endangered species. Or it can be possible that even after twenty years, thier population has decresed but it is still high that we didn't classify them as endangered species.

The given argument is filled with many assumptions and lots of loopholes. Till the time we didn't have any more strong evidence, we can't classify that in next several years, the Madagascan shrimp will become an endangered species.