Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

We have a recommendation that the university should allow students to take their own courses on the basis of their interest in their field. Students should have a choice in selecting their subjects on the basis of their likes and their interest.

First of all, students would be able to select their own choices of subjects. Most of students will select their intended field of interest. A computer science student would be taking most of courses related to computer like programming and computer architecture. This will allow him to study more programming language than a university curriculum may allow. Most university give a choice between two and three programming language to study from. But now a student will be able to study all programming language in different semester.

In addition to above, students will be able to perform better if they study the course which they love. A student loving computer architecture subject, would study further subjects like advanced computer architecture. Apart from this, a student would not be required to study the subject which he didn't like. A student maybe good in writing computer program but he hate writing essays in literature based subjects. He didn't need to bother for essay now and will be quite relax for other subjects which he love.

Nevertheless, there are few loopholes which we have to focus on. A comprehensive and eclectic course is considered good for overall development of a individual. An engineer may not like writing essay but he may have to write a thesis if he plan to do post doctoral in his desired field. Apart from thesis, the given engineer may need to write documentation for any new innovation which he may create. Simultaneously we require a writer to have a little knowledge regarding computer.

Students will love to take courses in their interested field. This will make them more field specific and will increase their knowledge further in their intended field. But a well completed curriculum also has few advantages which should not be overlooked.