"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."" -

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the national aeronautics magazine, the writer suggests that we should focus more on unmanned space flights simply because there is evidence that space probes and satellites have proven to be successful in gathering useful data. However, the argument in this letter relies on many assumptions which weaken its stance if their implications are not examined and analyzed in a more thorough manner.

Throughout this part of the letter, the writer's reasoning heavily depends on the assumption that unmanned space discoveries can be as powerful and effective as manned ones. However, th...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.