Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The main responsbility of teachers should be to improve their students' academic performanc; by this logic, a student's academic performance should reflect the effectiveness and competence of their teachers. While this may be true, there are many other factors that can determine students' academic performance which are outside their teachers' jurisdiction, including the students' family environment, backgrounds, and more importantly the students themselves. Thus, basing teachers' salries entirely on their students' academic performance would spring up more problems that it would solve.

To begin, it would be unfair to give higher pay to teachers whose students are performing better in school, because students' academic success is determined by a wide gamut of different factors, many of which are of little to no correlation with their teachers' teaching capability. For example, research has shown that students coming from a wealthier household and having parents with college degrees or higher tend to achieve more academically than their fellow students. It would not be fair to award a teacher more salary simply because they are assigned to teach a class with more students coming from a privileged family and vice versa.

On another note, there are students who do not wish to put in their efforts in school, always slacking off and refusing to learn. In this case, these students would inevitably have poor academic performance, and it would also be unfair to penalize a teacher, reducing their salary, for their students' lack of effort in learning. Thus, teachers' salaries should not be based on their students' performance because their competence in doing their jobs plays only a partial role in the students' academic success.

Furthermore, if teachers' salaries were in fact commensurate with their students' performance, other unforseen problems that can jeopardize the student-teacher relationship may arise. If students are aware that their performance can influence their teachers' earnings, they may feel that their teachers are now in their control, thus reversing the power balance in the classroom. To illustrate this, a group of students can threaten to intentionally perform worse as to deduct the salary of a particular teacher whom they hate. On the other hand, teachers may also see this new rule as an opportunity to earn extra money at no extra work. Many teachers may mendaciously present their students' academic performance as better than what it really is to get a pay raise. This forged academic success may lead to many greater flaws in educational institution. Ultimately, basing teachers' salaries on students' success can vitiate the teacher-student relationship.

Although a teacher's teaching effectiveness certainly plays a part in their students' academic progression, it is unwise to base their salaries entirely on the students' performance. Doing so will be unfair to some teachers assigned to particular groups of students, whose academic success are largely determined by other factors. Doing so will also potentially put the classroom relationship between teachers and their students at risks. Consequently, with the ultimate goal of perpetuating a healthy learning environment for students, we should understand that teacher's competence at their jobs may not be immediately and directly reflected by their students' academic performance.