Mentian advertising executives.

The author of the article examines a study on the correlation between the amount of sleep needed by business executives and their companies' success. From the result of the study, the author concludes that business should only hire people who need less sleep in order to prosper. The author's argument relies on a number of unproven assumptions, including that the results of the study can be taken as a clear indicator of a positive correlation between amount of sleep needed and a business' success and that the executives being surveyed are in fact the impetus behind their firms' fast growth. These assumptions, if proven unwarranted, would significantly weaken the author's conclusion. The study mentioned by the author only involves subjects who are Mentian advertising executives, which represent only a small pool of executives in varied business sectors all over the world. Thus, the validity of the study is questionable when applied to any general business. For example, maybe Mentian advertising firms devote a significant amount of work time to designing and filming their advertisement, this requiring a lot more time spent in the film studio. If this is the case, then it may certainly be true that those executives who need less sleep will be more frequently present on the studio to oversee their ad production, and in turn leading to better advertisement. However, a trend that can only be seen in the Mentian advertising sector should not applied to all other business sectors, including technology, law, or financial. For example, an executive of a technology company may not need to spend a great deal of on site working time because they can write programs and deploy production changes through the internet using web services. This means that a tech firm can be just as successful if its executives spend more time at home and need more time sleeping. Thus, the author should not conclude that all businesses should hire people who need less sleep in order to prosper. The author also makes the unproven assumption in his article that the executives who sleep less are indeed the main driving force behind their firms' success. However, this may not be the general case. For instance, more experienced executives in bigger companies may sometimes require less sleep because they have more work to do in managing a much larger team. Then maybe the firms that had higher profit margins in the study are simply larger firms with a lot more employees for the executives to manage, hence forcing executives to become inured to a tight sleeping schedule. At the same time, the employees of the company may be requiring more sleep to actually put in productive work everyday. Thus, it would be wrong to generalize from the study to the contention that all employees, whether possessing an executive position or not, who need less hours of sleep are more productive. This is because the study mentioned in the article does not mention the sleeping requirement of other employees, only executives. Therefore, the author's conclusion that businesses should only hire employees who need less than 6 hours of sleep is flawed. In order to make a more cogent argument, the author of the article needs to analyze and support all the assumptions he has made with further statistics and evidence. It would also benefit his argument if he makes a less generalized conclusion and focuses more on the scope of the results of the study he mentions.