The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Leaders of a country play an important and sometimes indelible role. They represent the face of the nation, govern and protect its people, and improve its standards. However, while it is certain that competent leaders should unquestionably ensure the well-being of a country's citizens, it would not be just to rate a leader's effectiveness solely based on the citizens' well-being.

Although it is true the these two factors sometimes have a positive correlation, we cannot infer one from the other because they are metrics of different qualities. Namely, the effectiveness of a country's leaders should be a relative measure while the well-being of a country's citizens is an absolute measure. This is because in order to measure competence in leadership abilities, we need to examine many factors at hand specific to a country, including its availability of resources, fincial situation, and its relationship with other countries. In other words, we can only judge a leader's potential through the ways they manage what is presented to them. On the other hand, measuring the well-being of citizens is objective and there should be no disagreement about the qualification under any context because the well-being of citizens can be directly placed on a spectrum without doubts based on different statstics, including GDP, literacy rate, life expectancy, infant mortality rate, and so on.

We will inevitably run into problems when we attempt to discover a correlation between a relative measure, the effectiveness of leaders, with an absolute one, the well-being of citizens. To put this into perspective, consider a very wealthy nation with abundant natural resources to sustain itself, and have no worries about wars, poverty, and hunger. In such a nation, the leader would have to do little to ensure a certain standard of living for the citizens because the citizens are already enjoying a comfortable life as it stands. In a sense, the leader of this nation would not need to possess a wide range of leadership capabilities under his belt to preserve an already prosperous nation. Now, consider the alternative. Suppose there is an impecunious nation, under perennial conflicts with neighboring countries, and barely enough resources for its population. The leader of this poorer country can be as capable and powerful as they can be, but the well-being of the citizens would never reach a level congruent to that of the citizens in the wealthier nation previously mentioned. Evidently, we can see that comparing the two leaders from two drastically different countries can be problematic because the two are not on the same playing ground. Thus, it would be misleading to infer their leadership abilities based on the two countries' standards of well-being.

Ultimately, leaders of a nation should strive to achieve better living for its citizens, but there is only so much they can do based on the country's current resources and situations. Consequently, before we try to find a direct relationship between the well-being of a country's citizens and the effectiveness of the country's leaders, we need to first recognize that leadership capabilities can only be measured relatively.