The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The budget planner of Grandview city suggests that the city should scotch fundings for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra, believing that the orchestra can continue to succeed on its own and that the a city budget deficit can be circumvented. However, such recommendations should be taken as a grain of salt because they are many unanswered questions, the answers to which may result in expected results than the budget planner's prognostication.

The most prominent question that must be addressed is whether the Grandview Symphony can indeed extend its halcyon despite the lack of government funding. While we know that the orchestra had succeeded thanks to an increase in private fundings, but this fact does not insinuate that the orchestra can still succeed without funding from the city. The budget planner only mentions that private fundings have increased by 200%, but does not provide a concrete number that can be compared with fundings from the government. Thus, despite the increase in private fundings, the orchestra may still be dependent on the city's fundings and would fail to sustain itself in the absence of them, contrary to what the budget planner suggests.

Moreover, the budget planner does not address the consequence of the orchestra increasing its ticket price, which brings many more questionable implications. For example, maybe the increase in price will lead to a decrease in audience size, and thus less revenue and less profit, meaning that the orchestra will still be losing money in the long run.

Yet another question that arises is whether the fundings for the orchestra compose a large part of the city's budget. The budget planner neglects this question when concluding that a cease in funding for the orchestra would preclude a budget deficit. However, if a significant portion of the city's budget is dedicated to other factors, perhaps environmental concerns, construction, or tourism, then cutting the funding for the orchestra will not prevent a budget deficit, unlike what the budget planner believes. If this is indeed the case, then the budget planner would need to focus his attention on other government spending.

Overall, the budget planner struggles to provide a cogent argument for the city to remove the funds to the Grandview Symphony in their memo because they have left many unanswered questions. If the budget planner could provide answers to all these raised questions with sufficient evidence, that their recommendation would most likely have the intended consequences.