The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview."It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many ye

The memo from the budget planner for the city of Grandview read that the funding for the Grandview symphony orchestra will be stopped. The following explanations were cited for the same. 1) Private contribution to the symphony increased by 200 percent and the attendance at the symphony's concert in-the-park series doubled. 2) Symphony has announced an increase in the ticket prices for next year. The reasons cited in the memo seem unwarranted and incomplete explanations for cutting out the funding for the orchestra.

The first contention in the memo shows a weak analogy between the increase in the private contribution and the attendance in the symphony's concerts. The correlation that has been exhibited in this statement is totally baseless. There is no mention of how the increased funds have been utilized in making the symphony's concert a success. It could be possible that the orchestra revamped their approach to public performance by choosing different melodies. There could also be a possibility that the orchestra has used a different coir for the present performance as compared to the previous one's.

The symphony orchestra could also have done a campaigning prior to the show or sent out flyers. The incoming funds and a grand success could be mere coincidences. Also, maybe it was the symphony orchestra's promotional events that have resulted in an increase in the attendance. Another major possibility could be that the symphony orchestra teamed up with another band or orchestra to stage a combined performance. Thus merely stating that the private funds increased the attendance for the concert is irrational.

Symphony's announcement for the increase in ticket prices for the next year in no way allows to draw a conclusion that the Grandview symphony orchestra needs no funding. The increase in tickets are stated for the next year and not for the present season. Without looking into the intricacies of the reason for the increase it is unfair to jump to any conclusions. The reasons for the increase could range from anything like increasing entertainment taxes, or increase in costs for stage shows. This could also be seen as a promotional technique to create any publicity among the people which could in-turn help them in increasing the attendance in their shows.

In addition, the memo 'predicts' that the symphony will flourish. This prophecy is extremely queer and the budget planner is making a whimsical assumption. The future of the symphony cannot be predicted at this point of time as music is something that changes from one generation to the next. Even if and hopefully the symphony flourishes in the future, it would require more funds to maintain its position. Thus cutting off the funds predicting its success is unwarranted.

Lastly I would like to conclude that the budget planning in terms of cutting funds for the symphony orchestra needs to be reconsidered as it is flawed in many aspects. There is also no mention as to where these funds would be utilized in case of the cut. Other aspects needed to be considered is how the Symphony orchestra has utilized the city funds in the last few years and if the private funding is indeed 200 percent. The percent increase if 200 or 100 needs to be verified from a registered source. The city budget planner should also request a report of expenses from the symphony orchestra and only after considering all the factors decide on whether the funding indeed need be cut.