The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The argument here is addressing the choice of a company that builds shopping malls around the country. Good intention roadways and appian roadways are being compared for the choice for construction of the access roads. The author here has cleared missed on a few points and coming to a decision maybe helpful by some of the issues that have to be addressed. The memo only reads a surface of a section of Route 101 paved just 2 years ago by Good Intention Roadways and is now cracked with potholes.

The first question in this argument to be answered is how is the vehicular traffic along the Route 101? Without any claim of the traffic and what type of vehicles frequent this route, it will be difficult to establish the cause of the section caving in. If this route is mostly frequented by heavy vehicles despite being an access road to the malls, this could a probable cause for the cracks.

The second question to be addressed is in which part of the state is Route 40 paved by Appian roadways. As it is clear from the statement that these two constructions are in different parts of the state, there is no mention of the weather conditions in either state. If Route 101 happens to be in a snowy region, these potholes maybe due to the snowblowers or accumulation of the water or ice requiring regular re-pavement.

The third question to be answered is, what raw materials have been used for either road pavements and what are their costs. There is no mention of the costs for the construction of the roads. The memo claims that appian roadways has maintained their quality but there is no evidence to clarify how the quality has been maintained. Hiring a new quality control manager is not suggestive of maintaining good quality.

Lastly I would like to conclude that the memo gives a very vague idea of the reason for hiring appian roadways. Although agreeable that the appian roadway construction did not cave in and maintained its quality at route 40, there is no evidence of standard quality maintenance. How hiring appian roadways for construction of roads for all malls will be advantageous over another companies is also not mentioned. The memo only compares two of the construction companies weighing one over the other