Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the exten

The author has put light upon a very interesting aspect of life, 'The past'. Each and every individual has some experiences in their day to day lives which forms a major component of their past and dwelling in the past is the worst problem affecting the mind of people. Our parents and grandparents always have stressed on the adage, 'Don't dwell on the past and live in the present.' These past experiences also do affect the present life of people in many different ways.

Having said this the topic states 'knowing' about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. The word underscored here is knowing. I will agree and disagree with the Issue, depending on the situation. If we talk about a company incurring huge losses it will be necessary for us to know the past records and the unwanted expenses incurred without which it would be extremely difficult to get the company out of its losses. In case of a job interview, 'past or previous experiences' have a lot of importance. Thus for judging a candidates appropriateness or suitability would require the interviewer to know about the candidates past in terms of experience.

The other aspect of the topic would be about how we as human beings tend to classify people based on our past associations. As the author also highlights the world today is significantly more complex than it was, we forget to accept that things change with time. Sticking to the age old aspects of life would not be very progressive of somebody. In situations like these to expect the same thing of someone knowing that it was possible by him in the past would be inappropriate. With the changing times, constant associations with the past would be futile. Citing my previous example of a candidate appearing for an interview, if the interviewer is familiar with the candidate and any of his/her past associations it would interfere with the present decision. Taking an apposite decision based on performance and qualifications without considering the past would be a challe

In conclusion, I would strongly agree with the topic that knowing of the past hinders present decisions. In taking decisions of the present, pondering over the past could lead to a state of mental turmoil. Considering the fast changing world things that happened ten years ago at certain circumstances need not have the same effect today.