Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position,

The author in this topic presents an argument about nations passing a law to preserve any remaining wilderness in their natural state. Although I wish to staunchly support this argument, there are always two sides of the coin. Considering the wilderness in any nation, I think every individual would want to preserve the forests or any other natural habitats. We see the environmental activists relentlessly working on saving the environment and also many movements like 'Plant a tree foundation' in many nations. Pre-independent India also was marked by the 'Chipkoo movement' where people formed human circles around trees to prevent them from being uprooted. Environmentalists argue that animals, various flowering plants and other species who find their natural habitat in these wilderness are driven to extinction due to man made habitats in these areas. The daily news reports bears or panthers entering a colony of man made habitats and killing people; a suggestion of humans encroaching their lands.

Speaking of nations around the world that houses millions of people, and specifically over populated countries like India and China to name a few, how could a nation like this provide infrastructure and also preserve the wilderness? The count of the world population is far more than the total animal count or other species. Nonetheless, the source of oxygen, food, textile all depend on the products from the wilderness and the balance of life is maintained by these forests. The question that arises is, how much? Out of the remaining wilderness areas how much should be preserved and how much could be utilized to sustain the world population? As a governance, a law should definitely be passed to preserve the remaining wilderness in order for a 'sustainable development'.

So as we all argue about preserving our conservation forests, we are the same ones who want a plush bungalow, a car, good public transport and niche infrastructure. But as the saying goes 'anything too much is bad', I support the argument that at least what is left should be preserved. As citizens of a nation it would be very easy to blame the governance of how the pre-existing wilderness had been destroyed but we need to keep in mind the budding world population. All this said I strongly believe the nations should pass a law trying to preserve what is left else, the world would be a place of tsunamis, cyclones and earthquakes, a sign from mother nature to leave the wilderness untouched.