True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

The above issue about how true success can be measured is moot. True success has different definitions for different people. What success one may find in research or teaching the other may find in keeping others happy. True success on the other hand is somewhat internal for a few people. Having said this, it will be difficult to comment on true success being internal or externally influenced. We all have idiosyncrasies which define us as people varying our definitions of success. I also think that true success for each individual also starts varying with different age groups.

As children we have always been brought up through decorous ways. Success through gaining highest marks or getting into the best colleges have been imbibed in us. If a child appearing for an exam is asked about what true success for him or her would be, you mind find him defining 'true success' in terms of his marks. For a person looking for a job, true success would be securing a high paying job. If our grandparents are questioned on true success one might get their children's happiness as the answer. I believe the definition of true success does depend on what we decide for ourselves in our mind but sometimes seems to be volatile.

Many a times, others define success for us and we spend all our time trying to achieve the projected idea of success. Also the concept of true success is many a times influenced by various other factors like the upbringing and the hardships one has gone through. For a person who has seen penury true success would be to measured through monetary terms or through mental peace. For a person like Albert Einstein who was always in quest for new theories, some may see him as having experienced success a lot of times and some may argue he never stopped thus never felt truly successful in his own mind.

There comes one point of time in our lives when we realize that we define our own success. Michael Jordon often said 'You often fail 100% in the chances you don't try.' This profound statement speaks a 1000 words. Even trying would give a feeling of true success. Sometimes when failure hits us, we often give up not able to fathom the failure. I would say one failed because he tried which in itself is a success. We come off too hard on ourselves being extremely rigid on our set definitions of success.

I believe true success is in our mind. It is based on the goals that we set for ourselves because we believe a person without any goals is an incompetent person. In our own set goals and intransigence we fail to see the many times we have actually succeeded in our life. I agree that we ourselves are responsible for our own success and failures. A major failure or set back for one person may not be perceived as one by another. We have always been taught to plan for the future, set goals and achieve them. Only when these goals are achieved we feel we have achieved 'true success' and the definition of the true success is defined in our own minds. For once if we actually didn't think of what goals we have set for ourselves we be rested not knowing what to achieve or do in life. Sometimes it is good to let go of our preconceived emotions and try not to define 'true success' as something that is planned but something that makes us happy as it comes.