The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unamnned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author of the given letter proposes that more resources should be invested in unmanned space flights. This proposal is based on the author's argument that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending people into space and also manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Here, the author has makes a hasty decision based on several unwarranted assumptions. The deficiency in the argument needs to be addressed before the author's proposal can be considered seriously.

Firstly, the author assumes that all manned space flights are costly and dangerous. Here, we need the data of costs of manned space flights and the dangers associated with them. We need to check how many manned space flights met with an accident while they were in use. It might be the case that only some of them are costly but very rare times accidents have happened with them. So, we need the data to address the assumption. We also need to know the quality of manned space probes because if they are costly then they might be more efficient than unmanned space probes.

Secondly, the author assumes that recent successes will follow in the future as well. We also need to know how many of the unmanned space probes were in use and their cost and how many of them gave success. This would help in understanding the use of unmanned space probes over manned. Also, the author assumes that all the unmanned space probes will result as a success. This may not be the case.

Lastly, the author has mentioned that unmanned space probes have demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without sending men and women into space. Can all the work in space be done without men and women? There can be some intricate tasks that can only be done by humans. Here, we would need a manned space flight. In such cases, spending more resources on unmanned space probes won't be helpful.

Hence, the author's proposal is not well thought through and is based on hurriedly made assumptions. The above factors need to be analyzed before the author's conclusion is put into practice, else any hasty decision may prove to be a waste of time and money.