The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent successes of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women to space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The letter concludes by asking for resources to be invested in unmanned space flights largely due to the success from a series of unmanned space probes and satellites that came at lesser costs and risks when compared to manned space flight.

Clearly, the opinion writer assumes that the presence of men and women in spaced flights is unnecessary and the corollary that might result should there be any mistake in such flights can be costly. However, the opinion writer fails to address if these risks that were experienced prior to the supposed recorded successes where due to the paucity of resources and poor safety practices on the part of the aeronautics society. Also, the writer makes a statistical blunder by trying to prove the successes of unmanned flights on recent happenings rather than comparing this over a longer period of time. That is, over what period of time is the cost and risk reduction argument in unmanned flights been made? What if futuristic events see a downturn in the cost associated and risk being increased?

Also, in developing the opinion, the writer clearly does not present a full reason for some of the risks being associated with manned space flights. What if underlying details are responsible for these risks and if there are also possibilities for mitigating them? That is, manned space flights might prove more efficacious in the long-run if resources are amply supplied to address some of these challenges. In contrast to unmanned space flights, the possibility of its risk being increased in the future can be challenging and difficult to assess. In light of environmental impacts, interstellar travels utilize a lot of energy combustion that can be damaging to the ozone layer. The opinion writer is however not concerned with some other risks that still exist and can be threatening to other members of the society.

Conclusively, in trying to strengthen the writer's position, he should have catered for a whole scale assessment of the risk and cost reduction analysis in his assumption rather than clamoring for channeling of resources into unmanned space flights whose statical analysis of successes cannot be proven as compared to manned space flights. The assumptions clearly had missing links that mad this conclusion unstable.