The following is part of a business plan created by the management of the Megamart

grocery store:

“Our total sales have increased this year by 20 percent since we added a pharmacy section

to our grocery store. Clearly, the customer’s main concern is the convenience afforded by

one-stop shopping. The surest way to increase our profits over the next couple of years,

therefore, is to add a clothing department along with an automotive supplies and repair

shop. We should also plan to continue adding new departments and services, such as a

restaurant and a garden shop, in subsequent years. Being the only store in the area that

offers such a range of services will give us a competitive advantage over other local

stores.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that best way to increase profits as much as possible in the area should be to expand shops and services in the store versus local merchandises is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that opening new shops in the same place with remaining sections in the store is the surest way. Author’s assumptions is based on just a determinant but there is no other evidence related to affordability of this method. Assumption demand additional data to satisfy readers to persuade them to its argument’s conclusion. For example, one-stop shopping is good evidence to support assumption but not enough, system also improves quality of product and services could make stronger position.

Secondly, the argument claimed its method for increase gains but didn’t provide details about profitability of store. Adding pharmacy shop increased 20 percent sales but maybe opening a clothing department or automotive supplies and repair shop will not achieve same success. Because online shopping of clothing would decrease purchases with lower price tags and additionally, people mostly changes parts of their cars and repairs it from where they bought their vehicle in comparing store repair shop. For example, when your car’s engine failed, trusting original company service is more trustable than local store, when comparing skills and professionalism of repairers.

Thirdly, the argument never addresses attitude of municipality about big store that owns many sections. Such stores or shopping malls certainly threat local shops survival in the future which lead to unemployment and monopoly in the location where they are situated in. most governments passed or are passing legislations or laws to protect small merchandises from their big rivals. It is nearly impossible in big cities to prevent but in rural, people also reject shopping malls. For example, Wal-Mart services across the United States and forced to bankruptcy or close of local sellers in every state.

Finally, the argument omits thoughts of people in the area. In rural where locals have good relations with store’s owners and even friendship. That make them loyal to the shops. Additionally, awareness of people also would lead them to buy from local stores rather than big one. Because they know that unemployment and monopoly increase when such shopping malls open.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion could to ask people about their opinions or unifying local shops under one structure, maybe less profitable but renting shops to them both increase sales and make people happy.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by flaws in the Author’s assumption.