The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memorandum issued by the president of Humana University says that introducing online learning will increase total student enrollment and also solve the budget issue faced by the University. The Memo takes note of the increase in enrollment and reduction in costs by a nearby Omni University. However before the memo can be implemented the following arguments must be taken into consideration.

Firstly, It would not be accurate to compare the success of Humana and Omni Universities. It could be that Omni University has more lucrative degree courses with more affordable fee structure that is driving up its enrollment. It could also be that Omni University was a more reputed institution than Humana University. If either of these arguments were true then the online program of Humana University would not be a success as expected.

Secondly, The competition on the online market may be too much and the present circumstances might not be the same as the previous year in this fast changing world. Moreover Humana University would have to compete with established players like Omni University.They would not have the valuable insights that players like Omni University. This could effectively derail their online program thereby increasing their budget deficit by a larger margin.

Lastly, The failure of Humana University to grow in enrollments and profits could be due to the issues like falling quality of education, reduction in external grants, less scope of employment ,lack of growth in the region , pandemic like situation. Maybe the general trust about the University has gone down. In this case even the introduction of online classes would be of no help since even there, we would see minimal enrollments. If this case was true then there would neither be an increase in enrollment nor reduction of deficit.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now is deeply flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions and inherent bias. If the author is able to answer all the above questions with more evidence( scientific and systematic surveys), then it is possible to fully validate the viability of the proposal the owner has proposed.