The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered

by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni

showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and

classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet.

In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to

grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase

enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we

should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of

the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions

and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

In the portion of the memorandum provided by the president of Humana university, a budgetary comparison between humana university and omni university is presented. According to the president, online degree programs at nearby omni university increased by 50 percent in tandem with a decrease in dormitory and classroom expenditures, whereas at Humana university, enrollment has stagnated. The conclusion offered by the president then is that the budget can be made solvent by promoting online degree programs like omni university. In developing this conclusion the author, president of Humana University, makes several unfounded assumptions and derives erroneous and unfounded conclusions.

First, there is a lack of quantitative data on the online degree program enrollments at omni university. it is known that online enrollment has increased by 50 percent, but no raw data is offered to substantiate the inclusion of this figure and its interpretation. For example, it may be that there were 10 students enrolled in omni online programs prior to last year and that increased by five students, resulting in fifteen. Depending on the total capacity of the university, this may be an insignificant increase. More data are needed to ascertain the success of online degree programs offered by omni university.

Second, it is unknown if there are curricular differences in the programs offered by omni university and humana university. if the programs offered by humana university are best suited for physical environments, and omni university's programs are more diverse and versatile, then a comparison between the success of their online programs is not conducive. More information about the nature of and differences between the universities' curricula is needed to support this claim.

Third, no information is offered to evaluate the success of extant online degree programs and advertising campaigns. information about prospective students' needs and interests are needed to support the expansion of the online degree program. Otherwise, blindly perpetuating existing programs is a substantial error and can be expected to yield undesirable results. Survey data methodologies should be recruited to explore potential shortcomings and failings in the online degree programs of humana university.

Fourth, there is a lack of causal evidence to support that omni university's expenditure decrease was from an emphasis on online degree programs. As before, quantitative data are needed to determine if this decrease represents a significant budgetary advantage. For example, it is possible that the budget of omni university is also deficient and emulating the trajectory of its budget is not beneficial to humana university.

In conclusion, there is a general lack of quantitative data to support the president of Humana university's assumptions and claims. More data are needed to establish the practicality, costs, and benefits of the online degree program expansion proposal. Specifically, the president should address existing online degree programs and their issues before seeking to emulate a competitor university's tactics. A more thorough and detailed account of Omni university's budgetary expenditure savings should be offered to support comparison. Qualitative data are needed to modify existing programs at Humana university and support the creation of new ones. if the aforementioned assumptions can be rectified with more information and the suggestions are implemented, then the president's argument can become more plausible.