The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

In the memo, the mayor mentions about increasing the tax revenue in Hopewell through building a golf course and resort hotel as like in Ocean View. The conclusion thus drawn by the mayor about likelihood of golf course and resort hotel to increase the revenues in Hopewell just like in Ocean view though convincing ostensibly lies under many unwarranted assumptions which when substantiated deliberately seriously weakens the claim of the argument.

First of all, the location of both the place is not mentioned in memo. The mayor does not put light into the relevant location of both the places. It might be the case that the location of Ocean View is much accessible to people, have some extraordinary scenic beauty and composure which could have been the main factor apart from the golf courses for flourishing tourism there. The addition of golf courses and resort hotel might have been boon to their existing fame which might be lacking in Hopewell. If such a situation prevails then the assertion made by the mayor about emulating Ocean View and burgeoning economy is certainly hampered.

Secondly, during the past two years, Ocean View might have invested more in some other businesses like, recreational activities or major industrial development which might have resulted into 30 percent rise in their tax revenue. The golf course and resort hotel might have their contribution but there can be some other developments as well which have substantially supported the economy of the town. The mayor does not mention that only because of golf course or resort have the economy flourished so well. He speculates that because of them may be the economy has risen to 30 percent. If the given statement proves to be true then the claim thus made by the mayor does not hold water.

Lastly, the geographical setting of Hopewell might not support establishment of golf course of resort. The mayor just mentions about establishing golf course and resort hotels but he does not state about the feasibility of having them build there. If Hopewell has uneven terrain and non supportive geographical setting for building golf course and resort then the given conclusion is seriously weakened. It is because, the mayor claims about having these two in Hopewell like that of Ocean View is the only way to increase the tax revenue. If the above mentioned condition prevails then the conclusion is thereby challenged.

In conclusion, the claim as it stands now is based on various unfolded assumptions which need to be deliberately supported I order to draw a finite and convincing conclusion.