Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

In the memo, the author mentions about incredibility of milk and dairy product for decreasing the risk of osteoporosis instead being the likely cause of it. The conclusion thus drawn by the author about milk and dairy products might hold water; it rests on several infolded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be answered.

First of all, the author mentions about other participants who were observed during the study. He fails to note the nature, number and types of participants taken as a sample in the study. Some of those participants might have genetic inclination towards osteoporosis and some might have never before taken as milk or dairy products which caused the likeness of not accepting the benefits of the substances. If such a scenario persist then the generalization thus made in the conclusion about milk and dairy product being the cause of increasing the risk of osteoporosis is seriously weaken as such an assumptions cannot be made to identify the greater number of population than the one used in the study.

Secondly, the author does not mention about the functioning vitamin D and calcium in bones. Every minerals and vitamins have distinct functioning in the body, some act as a primary media which some work in collaboration with other substances like hormones to produced a desired effect and function. The author just mentions that Vitamin D and calcium help in bone formation and prevent osteoporosis; however, he fails to explain the underlying science behind this vitamin and mineral. There might be some other triggering element causing them to work as such and malfunctioning of those elements might have cause the higher risk. If such a scenario exists, then the assertion made by the author is significantly hampered.

Lastly, the author claims that many people say that a diet rich in dairy product helps in preventing osteoporosis. However there too exist some people who do not say so. It means that it’s not only the dairy product that helps in preventing osteoporosis. There might be a need of supplement diet to assist those dairy products to prevent the deformity. And the assertion is not based on some scientific fact or a dietetic professional which certainly proves that it’s just a vague generalization of the people regarding milk and dairy product. If this claim hold water then the above state mentioned statement is significantly weaken.

To sum up, as it stands now, the claim is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. To corroborate the claim more data is needed to reach a firm conclusion.