Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Learning is a process which includes self discipline and interaction. With the variance in the thought and perception each individual have different piece of idea for the same instance; same situation may be scrutinized differently because of this variation. The prompt vividly claims that learning can only be possible with the same set of mind while contradiction may lead to stress and learning inhibition. Though, seemingly correct this statement cannot be agreed because of the following reasons.

First of all, similar views lead to same information. For example, when a person advocated for the advances in nuclear energy and furthering its use around the globe, the similar information about its advantages and lucrative benefit will be lighted upon. However, a slight review of Japan’s nuclear plant disaster of 2009 can definitely give them a stir to think about the probable consequences which knowingly and unknowingly come across. When each person agrees to the statement regarding the use of nuclear energy in global basis, the probable drawback and precocious event which may come later cannot be foreseen. Therefore, contradiction in thought and vision is important as sometimes these can be crucial for estimating the unseen results.

Secondly, contradiction leads to new innovation; it further helps in finding the flaws and revisiting the theory which have been put forth. For example, the Lamark’s theory regarding evolution is one of the most criticized one. The assumptions made in the theory are regarded to be completely baseless and have no scientific basis to prove as such. Perhaps, the same theory was most widely accepted once until Darwin came up with his most cogent and fact driven theory; Darwinism. Lamark’s theory was further studied and the flaws thus present was worked upon after hundreds of years leading to updated version of the existing one called Neo-Lamarkism. This thus proves that contradiction lead to new invention, revisiting the given protocol and correcting with proofs and facts.

Finally, for every ruling government there lies an opposition for correcting their mistakes and warning them when deviated from the main gist. If the entire country supports the dominant potentate without hesitancy, support the unfair event thus proclaimed and fall under the shadow of unfairness then the stress and learning prohibition is undeniable. However, a little warning on the other side, with contradictory view is necessary to give them a light of learning about being moral and judicial towards the welfare of the people rather than their own.

To sum up, contradiction is needed to understand our flaws and mistakes because when an opposing views does not exist then there’s no room for furthering the debate and knowing something we have overseen. Approval, though it’s encouraging cannot trigger the mind to think critically while contradiction gives new views and ideas that though does not match shows other side of view.