Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Every nation is responsible for the well being of its people. Like in the definition of democracy which states, it is for the people and by the people; the profound nature of nation is to serve its citizen and the history it holds. In the other hand, arts are another dimension which blemishes the cultural depth, protecting the history and paving a way for the future. In the prompt it mentions that, apart from cultural dignity, a nation’s primal issue must be the people and their welfare and I completely agree with this statement providing following examples.

First of all, a nation which struggles with hunger and unemployment is the one that is hit in economic terms; financially weaken and rely heavily on foreign aid. Such a nation should focus in abating the troubles of people rather than waxing the arts. For example, a country like Somalis where hundreds of people die just because of hunger, should not be funding for arts, instead their primal concern should be replete the food store for today and for days to come. It will be imprudent of a nation to ignore the significant population’s harshness and indulge it own self interest rather than the peoples’.

Similarly, a country will move ahead only if its citizens are self sufficient. A country with higher unemployment rate and challenging economy will always stuck in the process of import and financial crisis. For a small country like Nepal, where unemployment rate is at peak and peoples’ daily life is getting worse with each passing day, it’s the primal duty of the nation to assuage this crisis. As the people themselves is their main source of income through heavy taxation; unemployment will not vender much for what a government expects from its people. Therefore, the funding which can be used to generate employment facilities should be used wisely as what is invested will return in time through various means and also that need of time must be addressed. As the challenged faced by a nation differ with time and circumstances. For example, during a disaster the primal concern of the nation is to save the soul of the people. Similarly, during the time of recession, it’s their job to create new one or support the existing. Government should work on the primary and necessary matter instead of pondering in trifling matters. When a need comes of investing in arts, the thing should be done with decency, but when it come for peoples’ struggle and concern, they should always focus on those matters.

To sum up, a nation exists when its peoples’ exist and as people are responsible towards its nation so is the nation towards its people. Therefore, they must address the peoples’ problem before seeing the other matters as people are the primal assets of a country.