"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

In the given memo, the author asserts that the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal has successfully surpassed the existing top brands and has become the customer choice over time leading to its present success and future prospective for expansion. Thought the authors claim clearly mentions the result and plan, the given assertion lies under many unwarranted assumptions which when proven undermines the above statements.

First of all, the author says that the quality of cereal distributed by Bargain Brand breakfast and the top brands are the same. If the customers prefer the former brand for the latter then the quality of both brands should be same which is not mentioned in the memo. If there lies the fact that the quality of the former is inferior to the later, the ebullient claim thus mentioned by the author is seriously challenged because customers do not compromise with the quality over quantity.

Secondly, the author mentions that the top brands are not having much profit as Bargain Brand breakfast is having for this reason the top brands are lowering their price while the Bargain Brand has not to do so. But the author does not mention that the other top brands might have other commodity to sell which is generating the profit they need. However, it might be the case that the other top brands are exporting their products out of the area or other countries and making their profit without lowering the price. If this scenario exists, the claim made by the author is seriously challenged.

Lastly, the author suggests that the Bargain Brand must expand their business with other low-priced food products but he does not mention about the type of market preference of the people. For example, there might be the existing situation in the market that the other food products which Bargain Brand is planning to bring into business are already present at the lowest price possible. Perhaps, the kind of profit the author is dreaming about might not be achievable as the market saturation with the product is already prevalent. If this scenario too exists, the claim made by the author is impaired.

Finally, the above mentioned memo lies under many of such unwarranted assumptions which if proven, strongly question the claim and the conclusion drawn.