The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

In the recommendation, the vice president of Climpson Industries provides the recommendation about monitoring the employees’ internet use and acting against the malpractices for fostering a better work ethic and improving overall profits. The conclusion as it seems might be convincing but it lies under many unfolded assumptions which when deliberately corroborated can seriously weaken the assertion made by vice president in the face of improving profit of the industry.

First of all, the vice president fails to mentions about the market condition of the industry. If the industry is on the verge of collapsing or shutdown point then the employees have nothing to do. In such a case a better policy regarding improving the industry’s sale and for finding magnate rather than cutting prevent the employees’ internet usage should be promoted. If an industry cannot be solvent then no matter what the productivity the employees pour into, a strong policy can only change their situation. If such a condition prevails, then preventing the internet usage will do nothing good for improving the profit of the industry.

Secondly, to incite the employees a company must provide some incentives in terms of promotion and allowance increment. The vice president just mentions about preventing internet use among employees which in no case will help in enhancing the employees’ productivity and efficiency towards the work. Preventing internet will only show a tyrannical behavior of the industry upon them as to bring out the best among the employees cooperative and beneficial incentives can only be the best options. The claim made by the vice president about improving the profit will never be achieved through such a strategy and efficiency is directly related to incentives. Thus, the claim made by vice president does not hold water to be true and effective in practice.

Lastly, punishing employees will never foster well for any industry, as they are the asset of any firm, their even minor contribution matter for the industry. Any minor to severe punishment which the vice president fails to mentions hamper the efficiency and working will among the employees. Punishment is never a way to have a job done; this principal stands for children and for adult as well. Any deriding behavior will tarnish the reputation and fame of the industry that cannot be coped easily. The vice president assumes that punishing will be best way to improve efficiency where he falls short about the unprecedented consequences which may bear thereafter. Therefore, the aim of improving profit will be far way from being achieved.

In the end, the conclusion as it stands now is based on several unwarranted assumptions which when analyzed closely hampers the assertion of vice president. Therefore, more convincing evidences are needed to support the claim.