Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience

Imagination is one’s ability to think beyond boundaries and of course out of the box. The famous quote, “Imagination is the creator of all” explicitly explains the extent to which a single imagination can do. On the other hand, experience is the overall asset of human life. What we experience becomes the foundation of what we think, how we think and what we offer. Therefore, the claim thus made by the prompt cannot be stated as it is. There are several reasons for which experience surpasses imagination for being the most valuable assets in life.

First of all, imagination is beginning of experience only if that is put into action. For example, the theory of relativity and existence of black hole was a mere imagination of the greatest scientist of all, Albert Einstein. Following his path, Sir, Stephan Hawkings too put forth his theories regarding the presence of several black holes in the universe. Until proven, this was just an imagination of two greatest minds because science is based on facts, experiments and data. Only in 2018, Dr. Katie Bowhman, an computer engineer scientist was able to decode the program to give the world the first image of black hole which was regarded as one of the greatest accomplishment of twenty first century. If imagination was confined within the brain and not acted upon it just a thought which passed by the mind; which created an idea to initiate something, however, it’s the numerous effort and hundreds of failed attempts which brought imagination to reality.

Secondly, the greatest leader of American history, Martin Luther King Jr. with his famous speech ‘I have a dream’ gave the world the extent of his imagination; a society, a nation where everyone is equal, where differences has no place to survive and where only compassion and support exist. If this imagination was not given a voice by thousands of supporters to remove racism, to remove inequality and to bring establish justice for all, Mr. King’s imagination would have died with him. Protests, awareness and realization of equality which was done through experience made it possible to reach where we are. Imagination should be worked with, without which it is just a vague thought having no meaning and significance.

Lastly, experience is what shapes a person vision and his thought. A man cannot be greatest with an imagination but with his experience. However, imagination pulls off the cords of limits and boundaries, experience shows the limit and confinement and feasibility of the work. For example, a person can imagine of creating dinosaurs back but does this imagination hold water until proven, until experienced about actually bringing them back? The answer is no. Such a ubiquitous task limits within imagination until proven through experience.

To sum up, imagination is precursor of invention but it is not the only assets which can supersede experience. Experience gives results while imagination gives us theory whilst both are necessary a straight claim of one being superior to the other cannot be ascertained.