"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

In the memo, the author asserts that opening a café in Monarch books will be an effective approach in increasing the number of customers and also competing with the neighboring Regal books. However, the conclusion drawn by the author, might hold water; it rests on certain unfolded assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, it is not certain that those customers who seek for good books will also be interested in having a cup of coffee. There might be a possibility that the location where the Monarch Books is located can have a very famous café which is mostly preferred by all. Therefore opening the café won’t be enough for attracting more customers. If the mentioned condition prevails, then the assertion made by the author is certainly hampered.

Secondly, it is not mentioned that which section of the book store had most impact on the customer numbers. As said in the memo, that he space for café can be made by replacing the children book section, but there might be a case that the children book section is the most visited section among the rest. Though there is given a probability on significant reduction in under ten age population but reduction in the population won’t hamper the daily customer who has been buying books from Monarch books from years. If this is the condition than the assumption made by the author is greatly weakened. The opening of the café will be on the cost of his regular customer who has preferred Monarch Books for years.

Lastly, no data has been presented to corroborate the fact that opening café by Regal books has substantially increased their customer incoming. As motioned in the memo, the competing factor will increase if Monarch Books also open its café like that of Regal books but there is no assertion that has Regal books been as good with book purchase as Monarch Books is? If monarch book is good with customer sale than Regal book than opening a café won’t be a good decision to attract some more. Regal books with lower nook sale and more café cost might b the one suffering later. If this given condition prevails than the claim made by the author is certainly weakened.

To sum up, more corroborated data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If all the above mentioned questions could be answered, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.