Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

In the given argument, the author asserts that having the similar climatic condition except for rainfall pattern, the virtual elimination of Western Gazelle is not a plausible cause; instead predatory action must have found its pace in due course of time. Though the given conclusion ostensibly convinces the facts, however it rests on many unwarranted assumption which when deliberately substantiated weakens the veracity of the conclusion. Therefore, the following questions must be answered.

First of all, every animal in the wild have their own territory and dominance. The addition of 100 western gazelle in the already existing area of eastern gazelle might have cause a competition among the same species. The completion lies in term of land, food and shelter they need. A dominating group of animals never accept some foreigners in their space. If this animal behavior have prevailed in the western preserve then the chances of survival of the western gazelle is questionable thus leading to its ultimate elimination. Like Darwin said, survival of the fittest. The one which is already familiar to the space is much likely to fit than the deported ones. If this situation is proven to be true, then the claim made by the author does not hold water.

Secondly, the climatic variation though little significantly cause struggle in animals at the beginning until they are adapted to it. As the author mentions that little rainfall might not be a cause for its elimination, but variation in the climate at the beginning of their shift might be a great challenge for the western gazelle especially for the young ones. If the climate needed for western gazelle is temperate but the eastern gazelle has some tropical or semi tropical climatic condition then the chances of young western gazelle to survive the climatic differences is lower. As the argument does not provide any of such evidences, then the statement thus made is fallacious and does not hold water to be true.

Lastly, for waning in the animal’s number, poaching can be another reason for this. Animal’s accessories are of primal importance in smuggling world in terms of monetary and medicinal value. So, there might be excessive hunting of the animal as the number increased significantly with addition from western preserve providing poacher with a wonderful opportunity to hunt down a large number. If this situation prevails, then the persuasiveness of the argument is seriously weakened.

To sum up, as the argument stands for now, it considerable relies on many unfolded assumptions which when corroborated with other evidences hampers its standing and veracity.