Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In the memo, the author mentions that returning to the previous condition with considerable devotion to weather and local news; the station might regain its original status and advertising contracts. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfolded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, there might be other news channel competing for more viewers and better weather and local news coverage which have deliberately got the viewers attention. They might have been up to date with the minor local details to major weather upheavals with collectively shorter and fast period of time. They might have established themselves as a veracious news channel among the viewers, who choose to watch over weather details and local news over national news. If such a scenario is true, then the assertion made by the author is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the local businesses that used to advertise in their program might have found a better client with substantially higher price than what the previous one has been offering. Local businesses might get better paid for advertising the other shows than the late-night program which can be a cause for them to end the contracts with the previous station. If such a condition prevails, then the author’s claim is seriously impaired.

Lastly, the station might not be focusing on the major local activities and covering the trivial matter in a pompous way. Similarly, the might be negligent towards the weather update regarding changes and upcoming predictions. The viewers might have lost their interest as the matters and a case the station has covered does not align with the need and expectations of the people. If the same scenario exits, even after allocating a considerable time on local news and weather, the viewers will not be persuaded to watch the station. If this statement proves to be true, then the claim is questioned for its validity.

In conclusion, as it stands, the claim made by the author is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions.