The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Teaching is a process which is amalgamated with our life since the beginning of our existence. Like it’s said, home is the first school where decorum and sobriety is taught while schools and colleges are the one which promotes them along with educational profoundness. The claim made by the prompt regarding teaching through lauding positive actions and ignoring negative ones cannot be completely agreed with and this can be explained with the following reasons.

First of all, praising and criticism both are part of learning where praising positively affect the consequence of action while criticizing shows the space for correctness. For example, if a child offers his share of food to some underprivileged children whom he sees everyday begging and struggling for food, this act of kindness must be praised. A simple “well done” word will be enough to make him feel about the impact he had not only to the children he helped but also to the trait he is developing in him that is of kindness and compassion. This is an act of learning. Good deed must be praised; however the lesson which is learned through the process must not be overseen.

Furthermore, praising the positive actions is necessary but if it’s done on behalf of ignoring the negative ones, there is some serious consequence of it. Mistake is a part of learning; it can be ignore for once or twice but when it is done on a repetitive pattern, there it turns to be habit. For example, bullying is a serious act; it can cause some deep impact on the person being bullied. If a child bullies some other child and we normal oversee it as it is considered as a fun act for multiple times, this act now becomes a habit for the child. Ignoring his deed is encouraging him to do it again and again which when timely warned would not have been the case.

Similarly, a government is there to work for to people, but if the same government does act which questions the sovereign of the nation, criticism is must, revolt is must. Negative actions when done, if questions the whole existence, they must not be ignored, they must not be bore. Revolt in Hongkong against the government for respecting their dignity and sovereignty is one of the hot topics in present time. Negative actions should not be overlooked because it is the only way through which changes and reforms can be made.

To sum up, every person is on a learning process from child to an adult and the universal fact is nobody is perfect. Mistakes are made from everyone but understanding the impact of those mistakes is necessary. Praising is positive act of encouraging which pointing out the mistake is providing room for betterment.