In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago

In the memo, the author asserts that improvement in the road condition and visibility in Butler county have proven to be an effective approach for subsiding the number of accident and the same approach should be implemented in Prunty county as well. However, the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water; it rests on several infolded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, comparing between two counties can be done, if both of them have the same area and the same number of people on driving on the road. There might be the case that Butler County is much smaller than Prunty County that even with higher speed restriction the cases on the road are lesser. If it is so, a major detail about the number of people in each county with active vehicle riders should be assessed. The activities which proved to be working for Butler County might not work for Prunty County as restricting speed limit will not restrict the number of vehicle running each day across the road. If the mentioned condition prevails, then the assertion made by the author is certainly hampered.

Secondly, there might be a case that, the number of accidents in Butler County nearly five years ago was so massive that comparing to its consequence, the present figure seems quite promising. The accidents in Prunty County for now might be much lesser than what Butler County had some five years ago. The road accident as seen in Prunty County compared to Butler County some five year ago might be much lesser. It is because; if at present with 25% decrement in accidents is reported than some five year ago which means out of 100 still 75 vehicles face some kind of accidents. So comparing to the data’s of a single county may not effectively run to prove to be the same for the other. If such a condition exits, the author’s argument is subsequently weakened.

Lastly, the cases of road improvement in Prunty County might be more challenging than Butler County with more rough terrain and most foggy weather to impair the visibility. If the chances of road amendments in Prunty County is minimal than the suggestions for lane with increment, rough road resurfacing and visibility improvement just prove out be to another failure in minimizing road fatalities. If this proves to be true then the author’s claim is seriously impaired.

To sum up, more corroborated data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If all the above mentioned questions could be answered, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.