Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

In the memo given, the author averts about the decline in the arctic deer count might have linkage with the global warming which has substantially made them unable to follow their age-old migration pattern cross the frozen sea. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfolded assumptions that, if not corroborated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, have the local hunters been hunting down the arctic deer for their own consumption lately. The people residing on the Arctic Circle hugely depend on hunting the animals. While on this process of surviving in those harsh climatic conditions, there might be a change that hunter beyond the authors reach might have been hunting them down for food and accessories purpose. As we know already that skin of such animals are still widely used for clothing and sheltering in arctic regions. If this condition prevails and proves to be true, then the assertion made by the author is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the arctic deer might be a prey for some undiscovered predatory animals that thrive on them as their primal food. The argument does not mention about the probable predator which might feed on them thus causing a serious decline on their numbers. There are no any instances mentioning about other predatory arctic animals. If such a condition regarding the presence of predatory animals exists, the given assertion by the author is seriously impaired.

Lastly, there might be a case where, the bunch of arctic deer might have migrated towards further north, seeking more cold and harshness. There are cases where animals often migrate from one habitat to the similar one in different bunches. So when the data was taken regarding the count of deer a significant bunch of animals were absent from the sampled area. To support the author’s aversion, a wider sampling area must be chosen where the migrated and non migrated arctic deer can be included for the counting purpose. If the migration of the deer supposed to be true, the author’s claim regarding global warming being the reason for their decline is strongly undermined.

In conclusion, more data and relevance are needed to support the claim of the author. If the above mentioned conditions prevail in the study site then the argument is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If these answers could be answered with validity, it will be possible to fully evaluate the credibility of the argument.