"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

In the letter, the author mentions the need of an efficient driver’s education guidance needed for teenagers concluding that effective and compulsory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution for teaching driver’s education to them. However, while the conclusion thus drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfolded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, the author does not mention about the likability of Centerville High School to undertake driver’s education. The school might be out of enough space or resources to set up for a driver’s education. Perhaps the school in such a scenario might not align with the solution of the author the likeness of setting up a program for driver’s school for teenagers is certainly not about to happen in anytime sooner. If such a situation prevails, then the assertion made by the author is seriously hampered.

Secondly, if driver’s education is a mandatory course of the school then the parents are compelled to take any step to find the solution for their financial and time management problems. For example, the two driving schools are the only options, if an overwhelming teenagers flow into a driving school, the other is compelled to lower its price for the sake of running the business and attracting new clients. Economical and time consuming driving lesson which the parents are expecting can be achieved when the real factors of economics is played in an effective way. If such a scenario is achieved, then the claim made by the author is significantly impaired.

Lastly, since past two years record significantly shows the accident involving teenage drivers, the Centerville traffic might have issued some strict laws and restriction for any teenage drivers. As parents cannot afford of losing their child to immature driving on the main highway, they are compelled to give away the budget needed for their child to learn driving. Here, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. Of all these answers could be answered, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.

In conclusion, as it stands now the claim is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions.